Mini Operas Script Competition – Waiting Doubts

I imagine two parallel scenes. She is in her living room, He is in a travel waiting room (airport, train station, doesn’t matter). They may explore their respective halves of the stage, coming together for the duets.

SHE

How do I phrase it?

How do I say

That I do want to meet him?

…Just not today.

I need time to get used

To having him here,

To making a space,

To handling my fear.

HE

How can I phrase it?

Everything that I say

Will just come out rubbish.

I’ll wait one more day.

I need time to decide

Just what I should do.

How much I should tell her,

How much of it’s true.

SHE

I’ll see him next week.

HE

I’ll see her in June.

SHE and HE

I’ll see him/her eventually –

But just not too soon

HE

The texts and the phone calls,

They bring her so close.

Our words come together,

But how can we know?

I’ll write down the words

That tell how I feel,

Then send them away

To make them more real.

SHE

The texts and the phone calls

Can complete my day,

But when they are over,

Well, what’s left to say?

I write down the words,

They finish my thoughts

I can feel his eyes reading,

Untangling the knots.

SHE and HE

If only I’d know

Just how it would be.

If only I’d trust

That he/she really loves me.

SHE

He could be everything

That I’m meant to want.

To fill the hole in my life

That other girls flaunt.

HE

She could be everything

That I’m supposed to need.

I know she’s my partner

Through the letters I read.

SHE

But there’s something still stops me

From letting him in

From getting so close

That he’s under my skin.

HE

But there’s something I wonder,

Something I don’t know.

When I finally meet her –

Will my feelings show?

SHE

I’ll be ready soon,

I know that I will.

HE

I’ll just keep on writing

And calling, until…

SHE

I’ll see him next week.

HE

I’ll see her in June.

SHE and HE

I’ll see him/her eventually –

But just not too soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

