2021 wrap-up and 2022 challenge

Well, 2021 is approaching its end, and there were highs and lows.

Highs:

  • I was a lot more conscious of my reading
  • I tried to take advantage of books I already had access to
  • I found some absolutely excellent new reads – books that I still think about even though I read them months ago.
  • I made some progress in organising my UK-Kindle library. I’m down to 649 “uncollected” books.

Lows:

  • I failed entirely at blogging about pretty much anything. I have 21 drafts saved but this is less than half of what I read just on the Kindle. And most of those drafts are titles only.
    • To be fair quite a lot of my UK-Kindle reading was at bedtime. But still.
  • I bought more books on a whim than I should have.
  • I spent more time on Reddit and facebook than I should have.
  • I don’t think I finished my challenge – I’ll try to do a full review in the next few days but I’m pretty sure I missed “A book published in the 1980s” at least. I definitely failed at my mini-projects.

In 2022, my reading challenge is going to be much more low-key. I plan to (finally) read Don Quixote, via a sort of online book club, reading a chapter every few days throughout the year. I have also signed up for the Agatha Christie book club – reading one book a month, starting with The Man in the Brown Suit, which I honestly can’t remember if I’ve read before. Everything else I’ll take as it comes. I’m going to try to keep reading things other than Reddit (on Kindle, or Scribd, or Calibre) and I’m going to try to keep working through my various backlogs. Maybe I’ll also finish some of these 21 draft blog posts. Here’s hoping.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment