2022 wrap-up, and looking forward to 2023

I’m not even going to pretend that I’m going to blog regularly in 2023. I am struggling enough just trying to keep up with everyday life, much less aspirational life. My list of “things I want to do” is growing exponentially, and I am overwhelmed every day just trying to keep up with what I have to do. As I tell my kids – we do what we need to do first, and then what we want to do. 

But I did manage to read in 2022. 90 books on my Kindle. A few on Scribd. A few actual physical books! and some from my non-Kindle e-book collection. Some re-reads, mostly new. Some with the boys. Here’s the rundown (of the ones that I kept track of, either via kindle or via blog drafts): 

  • My Famous Frenemy, by Piper Rayne 
  • How to Lose an Earl in Ten Weeks, by Jenni Fletcher 
  • After Hello, by Mhairi McFarlane(1) 
  • Dom’s Dragon (bedtime book) 
  • The Astronaut and the Star, by Jen Comfort 
  • My Body Sends a Signal, by Natalia Maguire (bedtime book)(2) 
  • Pirate School (bedtime book) 
  • Lost Heirs of the Medieval Crown, by J.F. Andrews 
  • Forgotten Royal Women: The King and I, by Erin Lawless 
  • Rosie the Dragon and Charlie Make Waves, by Lauren H. Kerstein(3) 
  • Sadie Sprocket Builds a Rocket, by Sue Fliess 
  • The Egg Tree, by Katherine Milhous 
  • The Untold Story, by Genevieve Cogman (4) 
  • Ten Things I Love About You, by Julia Quinn 
  • Death of a Sorcerer, by Jeannie Lin 
  • A Greene Family Vacation, by Piper Rayne 
  • The Magic Porridge Pot, by Vera Southgate (bedtime book) 
  • I Am Able to Shine, by Korey Watari (bedtime book) 
  • Red Roses: Blanche of Gaunt to Margaret Beaufort, by Amy Licence 
  • Beauty and the Baller, by Ilsa Madden-Mills 
  • Robin Hood: The First Arrow, by David Pilling 
  • The Cat in the Hat, by Dr Seuss (bedtime book) 
  • Mad About You, by Mhairi McFarlane (1) 
  • Secluded with the Cowboy, by Cassie Miles 
  • A Splash of Vanilla, by Bethany Lopez 
  • When Stars Collide, by Susan Elizabeth Phillips 
  • Red Blossom in Snow, by Jeannie Lin 
  • Driven to Date, by Susan Hatler 
  • The Serenity House Trilogy, by Kathryn Shay 
  • The Piano Tutor, by Anthea Lawson 
  • The Gallaghers of Morning Star [books 1-3], by Jean Brashear 
  • Bellingwood Boxed Set [books 4-6], by Diane Greenwood Muir 
  • Bellingwood Boxed Set [books 7-9], by Diane Greenwood Muir 
  • Last Night, by Mhairi McFarlane 
  • Meant for Love, by Christine Kingsley 
  • My Grandma’s Photos, by Ozge Bahar Sunar (bedtime book) 
  • Bellingwood books 10-38, by Diane Greenwood Muir 
  • Monster Knows Numbers, by Lori Capote (bedtime book) 
  • I Can Eat a Rainbow, by Olena Rose (bedtime book) 
  • Because of Miss Bridgerton, by Julia Quinn 
  • Four Lost Cities, by Annalee Newitz (5) 
  • Elementary: The Periodic Table Explained, by James M. Russell 
  • Doctor Who: The Wonderful Doctor of Oz, by Jacqueline Rayner 
  • The Great Fire of London, by Hawys Morgan (bedtime book) 
  • The Dark Queens, by Shelley Puhak(6) 
  • Space Science, by Ciaran Murtagh (bedtime book) 
  • Finding Love, by Serenity Woods 
  • Montana SEAL, by Elle James 
  • Montana Brides Boxed Set (books 1-3), by Leeanna Morgan 
  • Material Witness, by Lisa Mondello 
  • A Slow Fire Burning, by Paula Hawkins 
  • Come Out Mr Poo, by Janelle McGuinness (bedtime book) 
  • The Rithmatist, by Brandon Sanderson (7) 
  • Death of a Dapper Snowman, by Angela Pepper 
  • Lamb to the Slaughter, by Karen Ann Hopkins 
  • From Chewing to Pooing, by Lauren and Natalie Gehringer (bedtime book) 
  • The Martian, by Andy Weir 
  • Death in a Summer Colony, by Aaron Stander 
  • A Murder of No Account, by Julia Underwood 
  • Daisy Jones and the Six, by Taylor Jenkins Reid 
  • All the BIrds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders 
  • Murder on the Page, by Kennedy Chase 
  • The Reunion Series, by Karen Kingsbury 
  • The Boy on the Bridge, by M.R. Carey 
  • Love Without End: A Story of Heloise and Abelard, by Melvyn Bragg 
  • The Forgotten Fields, by Geoffrey Beevers 
  • Problem at Pollensa Bay, by Agatha Christie 
  • Mrs. McGinty’s Dead, by Agatha Christie 
  • Sparkling Cyanide, by Agatha Christie 
  • The Relentless Moon, by Mary Robinette Kowal 
  • The Man Who Died Twice, by Richard Osman 
  • Agatha Christie reading challenge: 
  • The Man in the Brown Suit 
  • Death on the Nile 
  • After the Funeral 
  • Why Didn’t They Ask Evans 
  • Murder on the Links 
  • Murder in Mesopotamia 
  • At Bertram’s Hotel 
  • Destination Unknown 
  • They Came to Baghdad 
  • Death in the Clouds 
  • 4:50 from Paddington 
  • Hercule Poirot’s Christmas 

1 – I highly, highly recommend Mhairi McFarlane to anyone who likes romance! Wish fulfillment in the best possible way. Also she lives in Nottingham. 

2 – Decent for identifying physical links to emotions! 

3 – I wish there were more to this series! 

4 – I am going to miss this series so very much 

5 – A must-read for anyone interested in archaeology, anthropology, or history in general. 

6 – I cannot overemphasize how much I enjoyed this book. French history / Early Middle Ages history is next on my “to become obsessed with” list, primarily because of this. 

7 – He’s seriously not going to get back to this until he finishes Cosmere? *shakes fist* 

——— 

So what’s on deck for 2023? Well, I’m going to do #readchristie again for one thing. There will probably be a few more Ladybird / Big Cat Collins books, and hopefully some more from my “read with the kids” collection. And I would like to get through at least one big “classic” – I’ve started Kenilworth by Sir Walter Scott, but I think I want to try Dante or Milton during Lent, and I keep poking at the idea of adapting Canterbury Tales (but to do that I need to read / re-read all of them!) (I think Don Quixote is never going to happen for me, though.) Also there are a few authors from my 2022 list that I want to read everything they’ve ever written – Taylor Jenkins Reid is fast becoming a favourite, I’m embarrassed that it took me so long to get to both The Relentless Moon and The Martian, and hopefully Mhairi McFarlane or Julia Quinn or Jeannie Lin will have a new book out this year. I’ve also subscribed to Uncanny Magazine on Patreon, so I am going to try to keep up with reading that too. I also subscribed to Uncanny Magazine on Patreon, so I’m going to try to keep up with reading that. I won’t officially attempt any other reading challenges, but we’ll see what happens!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Plan

Leave a comment